Featherweights For those with just a few pounds, or trying to lose those last few pounds.

Old 11-29-2011, 09:57 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 147/147/135 HW - 190

Height: 5'6"

Default Set Point Theory?

Hey Everyone,

So I work in healthcare research and currently I'm studying obesity and bariatric surgery. I personally study social aspects of health but I'm around a lot of other medical researchers and psychologists.

There is always talk about 'set point theory' the idea that your body will alway fight to keep it self in it's set range of about 20lbs and it's really hard to gain or lose more then that. I find this true for my self, my weight is normally between about 135-155 and I've never succeeded to getting it any lower.

Do you guys believe in this theory? Also, anyone have any tips for getting your self below your set point?

Thanks!
Lisa
LisaTcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:25 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 169/169/135

Height: 5ft 4"

I am now below my lowest ever weight since I was a pre-teen, so my set weight of about 150lbs has been blown to pieces
I simply persevered past my plateau of about 4 months and then I kept losing...I also kept changing up my routine and eating plan
kimmieval is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 04:53 PM   #3  

Doing a quick look at studies on pubmed seem to show that it has been debunked years ago.
TheCuriosity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 05:01 PM   #4  
Changing my life

S/C/G: '09HW337 '11SW 314.0/266.6/155

Height: 5' 6"

It was not difficult for me to continuously gain weight.
rachaelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 10:00 PM   #5  

S/C/G: 134/126/under 124

Height: 5'2.5

This issue has come up multiple times in the Maintainers Forum:
http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/livi...et-points.html
http://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/livi...set-point.html