Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 10-08-2011, 11:01 AM   #1  

Default I think I got heat stroke or heat exhaustion!!!!!!!!

This is what happened to me. I was doing my work out yesterday and the furnace was on full blast(although no kids say they did it) I never knew this and started my exercise but about half way through I got dizzy my heart rate went up and thought I was going to faint. I also forgot to bring down my water and my fan I do not know why I forgot this time.

I thought the furnace would cut out so I continued with the work out til half way through then that happened. So I went up stairs to turn the furnace off and it was reading 28degrees c so in the basement where the furnace is and my weights was about 35 easily.

Has this ever happened to you. I have been lifting weights now for 2 months and first time for me but I always make sure the furnace has been off and cold down stairs for me. I also bring down 1 liter of water and my fan and forgot this time.

The wife always says I AM MY OWN WORSE ENEMY lol

I turned the furnace off waited 4 hours til it got cold in the basement and continued the workout with no problems.

Thanks and oh ya the furnace is about 2 feet from my weight bench also really small basement.

Thanks for any and all advice in this..
canadacatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 12:23 PM   #2  
Just Yr Everyday Chick

S/C/G: Lost 50 lbs, regained some

Height: 5'3"

Yeah, sounds like heat exhaustion to me. Next time, if there is a next time, be sure to drink some cool tap water (not ice water--that's too cold) and if necessary, get into a cool shower so you can bring your temperature down. I've had it happen to me when I've gone on nature walks here in Florida when it's really too hot and humid to be out.

It's not the same as dehydration--it's literally that you get too hot inside.

Glad you're OK!
Jay
JayEll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 01:27 PM   #3