General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 07-08-2011, 09:01 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 280/172/170

Height: 5 feet 7 inches

Default A work vent-Can I vent?

I just need to vent....
I am new at my job in the office, less than 3 months. I don't know everything yet, I am not sure when I should know everything?
Anyways, I don't have all of the answers. If I get a caller who doesn't know who they are trying to reach, I can pretty much narrow it down to two people, like A and B and transfer it to the most available person. It might not be "right" but I figure they can always transfer them to the correct person if I am wrong. Sometimes I do ask a coworker later, and I keep a list of typically requests and who to transfer those callers to (things I had asked the person whose job I took over)
So, with this information I can usually narrow it down if the caller doesn't have a name of who they are trying to reach.
So, here is my vent. Today I had a caller and they wanted to buy XXX and I thought they could buy it from the shop, so I gave that number. Then the caller starts asking but do they sell XXX. I reply I am not totally sure what the items they sell, I mean I do the invoice but it parts and not things I easily recognize to what it would be...at most some of them are meaningless words, some even just a bunch of numbers or letters.
Well, the caller said that the company website has this information that he can buy these parts from them...who would be in charge of that? So, I think to my list and tell him I am going to transfer him to so and so because they are in charge of buying this other stuff. Well, my caller doesn't want to buy that type of stuff so he doesn't want to talk to that person...
At this point, I should have put him on hold and ask, but all of my other coworkers were on the phone so I would have been interrupting them...and I don't like to do that.