Whole Foods Lifestyle For discussion of whole foods and more natural diets.

Old 08-26-2010, 04:30 AM   #1  
June

S/C/G: 240/184/155

Height: 5'6"

Default Whole wheat bread recipes

I'm really determined to start making my own bread. As is we only eat fresh bread both for taste reasons and because I hate all those preservatives they put in them. But that's not cheap and I'd love to have some bread nice and warm right out of the oven.

I was thinking of trying this recipe: germanfood.about.com/od/bread/r/wurzelbrot.htm but using only whole wheat flour and whole wheat malt flour. I really love that type of bread but I'm not sure how good it will be. But does anybody else have some good recipes to share? I'd love to try them! Please nothing too complicated because I'm new to this whole thing.
runningfromfat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 10:12 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 220/183/140

Height: 5'4"

This is my favorite bread:

1 envelope of yeast
1/4 Cup of lukewarm water
1/4 Cup of liquid honey (honey with a bit of water)
1 1/4 Cups of hot water
1 scant Tbsp. salt
3 cups of whole wheat flour
3/4 Cup wheat germ
1/4 Cup of olive oil

Put yeast, lukewarm water and honey in a bowl and let it become frothy.

Mix hot water with salt and let it cool to lukewarm

Combine this with the yeast mixture and add to the flour and wheat germ

Mix this very well, while pouring the olive oil over the mixture. Add more water if needed to make it malleable. Beat this hard (I use wooden spoon) in a kneading motion in a bowl.

Put the bowl in a pan of hot water and let the dough rise.

Beat it down and put the dough in an oiled pan (regulation bread size) and let it rise again.

Turn the oven to 425F for 10 minutes before you put the bread in the oven. Bake for 15 minutes, then turn the heat to 350F and bake for 25 minutes more.

Placing a pan of water in the oven below the rack with the bread on it will give a nice crust.

This is from "Our Daily Bread" by Stella Standard, 1970.