Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 06-01-2011, 04:17 PM   #1  

Default Need advice: Best type of exercise for arms

Hi all!

I am new to the exercise world and am in need of some advice.
I am wanting to tone up the flab under my arms.
I enjoy to use kettlebells the most and was wondering if anyone knew the most effective exercises to help tone arms with. It doesn't necessarily have to be with kettlebells...I am up for anything.
Any websites or specific workouts that have worked for you would be awesome!!

Thanks so much!
boatgirl16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 04:39 PM   #2  
Embracing the suck

S/C/G: 300/234/abs

Height: 6'9"

Your best bet is not to fool around much with isolation exercises that only work your arms.

Pushups will work your chest, shoulder, and tricep muscles.

Pullups will work your back and biceps. Use palm facing you. Use assistance bands if you're not strong enough to do pullups.

If you don't want to do pullups for some reason you can do one arm bent over dumbell rows.

Those two exercises + lose fat = toned arms + toned shoulders + toned backed.
JohnP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 05:05 PM   #3  
ddc
getting back to 140

S/C/G: 155/154.2/140

Height: 5'7"

I agree with JohnP, although I also do bicep curls and tricep pushdowns with tubing.
Depending on your age, how much weight you still need to lose, how much weight you've lost, you still might have the underarm flab. I do

Last edited by ddc; 06-01-2011 at 05:06 PM. Reason: too many also's
ddc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 08:53 PM   #4  

Thank you johnP and ddc!

JohnP, I will definitely do the pushups then. I'll do some research on correct form and stuff cuz last time I did pushups was in gym at school. :/
As for the pullups, I am up for that but I do not go to the gym or anything, I do my stuff at home due to lack of money to join the gym. Not to sure what I could use to pull myself up on yanno?