Old 05-10-2011, 06:07 PM   #1  
The tortoise

Default Late night eating

I'm a night owl, always have been, I hit my stride at about six in the afternoon (this is great for workouts) and my body clock on it's own likes to hit a rhythm of 4am-11am. Sadly, I'm a teacher and can't work like that so I'm off to bed at 1 and get up at 7.

I can eat perfectly all day without a hitch and then come eight in the evening I turn into some kind of ravening wildebeest. 8pm to 1am is a long time to sit with hunger, most people go to bed earlier and I've tried to, I just can't sleep before 1am. I need some kind of strategy for coping with late night hunger pangs. Can anyone help?
Cleophas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 06:39 PM   #2  
Committed to this

S/C/G: 285/268/135

Height: 5'5"

I am a night eater too, and a night owl as well. I am doing a combo of South Beach and Weight Watchers and what I do is save some points for an after dinner snack. Many people say don't eat past a certain time, etc, but I would rather have a planned snack which is within my points, then binge late at night because I am bored and hungry.
authentic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 06:48 PM   #3  
onedayatatimer

S/C/G: 224/ticker/145-155

Height: 5'9.5"

First, have you tried melatonin? Just a thought.

Anyway, I highly recommend saving calories for when you're awake. Also, here's what has really helped me lately, when I still want to eat. I cut up either celery or cucumber and I dip it into a calorie free ranch dressing. I think it's from Walden Farms. It's not amazing tasting, but when I eat it as a dip, it really jazzes up the boring veggies and I end up feeling full. Then, I might have some Jello sugar free cup and if I may have a Hansen's diet cream root beer. Yum!

Another suggestion is to leave the kitchen area. Tell yourself that the kitchen is closed once you've had all of your calories. Chew gum, make some air popped pop corn maybe? Brush your teeth maybe?