General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 05-03-2011, 08:23 PM   #1  

Default Rant Ahead

I just need to vent and get it off my chest.

I work as a medical transcriptionist and have for the past 5 years. Now, it's always been a bit of a rocky road here as I had some personality conflicts with my last manager (I wasn't the only one) and that always added stress (such as, when she accused me of fraud for making a mistake on one day of my time sheet and threatened to fire me over it), but lately it seems to be one thing after another.

We have a new manager, a girl that was our lead hand for years finally was given the position when our health authority went topsy-turvy and all the hospital systems merged. She's a wonderful woman, truly adores her job and is someone who found her true calling.

My performance review last month went less than stellar. Most issues seem to be from interpersonal relationships and the biggest one was my problem with the internet and lack of focus. Something I am well aware of and have been struggling to control most of my life. It affects other areas of my life than just work; I have a hard time doing any chores at home, any crafts, or anything that I'd like to do because my focus is so fleeting. There were some complaints by other coworkers complaining about how often/long I am seen on the internet (this is despite many of them talking and joking around with one another for upwards of an hour, taking extra long breaks, etc).

I was labelled, in the review, as not being a team player and when I expressed my frustration over how one can be a team player when we're plugged into our boxes, she gave examples about how we should offer help if it's needed (which I do), etc. So, not a very good review.