Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-21-2011, 12:45 PM   #1  

Default Have you ever taken a week off from exercise?

I am going on vacation in a couple weeks and am considering taking the week off from all formal exercise. I have been working out since Dec 1st 2010, about 5-6 days/week including running, walking, elliptical, and weight lifting. The idea of not exercising for the week intrigues me, but I don't want to undo any of the good I have done thus far. Have any of you taken a workout break and what were your experiences with it? Any opinions either way?
jomatho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 01:02 PM   #2  
Calorie counter

Height: 5'4.5"

Yes, I have. After working hard 5-6 days per week without pause for a whole year, I took a planned break. It was interesting. My plan was to take two weeks off, but I barely made it just over a week. I was itching to get back!

With lifting I came back stronger. I was shocked that I hadn't lost any ability to lift heavy. Cardio took a couple weeks to rebuild, but it wasn't at all like starting over.

On vacation though, I think I would actually crave workouts for the routine, the energy and the mind clearing moment to myself. But that's just me. When I'm on vacation nothing feels better to me than a run, especially if I can do so outside.
Eliana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 01:04 PM   #3  
Tellin' it like it is!

S/C/G: RESTART:153.5/147/135

Height: 5'4"

i have taken 6 weeks off..... best thing i ever did for myself