General Diet Plans and Questions General diet questions, support for various diet plans other than those listed below.

Old 03-02-2011, 11:54 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 450/ticker/350

Height: 5'6

Question Sugars from Fruit

Hello all! Im new at dieting & calorie counting, & so far I've done very well at cutting my portions & eating in half. I have a few questions though regarding fruit. I LOVE Fruit, simply because I love sweets .. Candy & Desserts are my vice, especialyl candy. I used to eat a bag of starbursts every other day! .. anyway I've gotten to the point that when Im craving something sweet or sugary, I grab a honeycrisp apple, or an orange, some kind of fruit.. sometime I'll grab a nutrigrain bar. ... I never used to eat breakfast in the mornings because it makes me sluggish, but I've gotten to the point to where I can eat a few strawberries & be fine...

My question is, should I be concerned with the amount of sugars in fruit? I love pears as well, but I noticed usually those will have 15 or 16 grams of sugar in one medium pear... honeycrisp apples have a lot too.. Is it bad to eat TOO MUCH fruit??

P H A T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 11:58 AM   #2  
I CAN do this!

S/C/G: 230/179/160

Height: 5'4.5

some people have experienced cravings from eating high sugar fruit. you could try eating fruit low on the glycemic index such as berries. or combining the fruit with some protein to slow the sugar spikes. like fruit with yogurt.
katy trail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 12:33 PM   #3  

Eating too much of anything is bad. Sugar in fruit is not the same as sugar in sweets. It doesn't cause your blood sugar to spike. Try having some protein in the morning - it won't make you sluggish. A HB Egg or yougurt is not heavy. You need more than a few strawberries. The aim is to keep our blood sugar stable all day.
QuilterInVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 01:17 PM   #4