Old 03-01-2011, 09:52 AM   #1  
I CAN do this!

S/C/G: 230/179/160

Height: 5'4.5

Default low carb grocery basics

ok, i'm really new to this. i've decided to try to do lower carb meals. just for a trial period. maybe a week or more. mostly taking out the most of the grains, pasta/rice. i've done meals before without rice or noodles, but i still had several slices of bread and cereal at the time.

anyway, i'm going to the grocery store this week. what kind of basics do you stock up on? how do you know how much veggies to get so you don't run out? and how much legumes?

yesterday i cooked 1/2bag of lentils and already i've eaten most of it, so apparently i'll be eating a lot of beans lol. i'm fine with that, just need more ideas.
katy trail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 10:42 AM   #2  
CouponDiva Extroardinaire

Eggs, meat, deli meat, rotisserie chicken, precooked bacon, canned green beans, salad veggies, frozen veg. Make all the veg low gi so no corn, peas, or winter squashes.

Ricotta cheese, cottage cheese, nuts and your favorite cheese are nice to have on hand too..

You will get a feel for how much veg you need but I always try to keep canned green beans and frozen broc/cauli so there is always healthy quick veg available..

If you like tuna or egg salad do a batch and it's quick and easy. I hate cooking for breakfast so I usually have ricotta creme or cottage cheese and then make fried eggs and bacon for my lunch..

The whopper in a bowl on the Atkins area is really good too.
Natalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 10:46 AM   #3  

Ps while beans have protein they also have a substantial amount of carbs so I would go really easy on them. Most low carbers have a carb level low enough that beans are rarely used do to the carb cost..
Old 03-01-2011, 01:45 PM   #4  
I CAN do this!