Living Maintenance general maintenance topics and discussions

Old 01-27-2011, 02:55 PM   #1  

Question Maintenance Calories

I was just reading a blog where the author states, "there is no such thing as maintenance". She basically says that wherever your calories/food intake was during dieting is where you have to keep it due to downward shifts in metabolism and the body eventually adjusting to your lower energy intake.

I would love any opinions or experiences! It is discouraging to see the NWCR states their average successful story only consumes 1400 calories a day.

I can track the post down if anyone is interested.

Thanks for any and all input!
evelove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 06:42 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 172/135/140

Height: 5'6"

I'm kind of new to maintenance but while losing my last 10 pounds I was at 1200 calories a day. I've been maintaining for about 6 weeks now and I'm eating 1750 calories....In fact I am slowly losing still so I might end up raising that level even more. I'd say 1400 is a low average, unless you're a shorter person. I am 5'6"
Mama2Five is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:29 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 210/209/174

Height: 5ft 10

I don't count calories but use the old version of the UK Weightwatchers points system. Taking into account their old points formula I'm on 1995 cals/day before counting 'free' vegetables - so the real typical calorie intake will be a bit higher. I tend to have more points at weekends, fewer in the week. I was losing weight (slowly toward the end) on 1540 plus veg.

Last edited by lora m; 01-27-2011 at 07:32 PM.
lora m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 07:33 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'

Quote:
Originally Posted by evelove View Post