South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Old 01-05-2011, 07:05 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 200/168/135

Height: 5'6"

Smile New to the Beach!

Hello! My name is Laura and I am on Day 2 of SBD. I have never done this "diet" before, but I know that it is a way that I can lose weight to begin with, and keep on eating this way all of the time afterwards. I love the Mediterranean feel to it and it includes my favorite foods! I do not have the book yet, but I am getting it on the way home from work. I have done Atkins and lost 30 lbs a few years ago, then I did Medifast and lost 50 lbs and gained 25 of it back because those diets were impossible to maintain. SBD seems like it will be a pleasure to indulge in every day! I am very excited to meet everyone here and look forward to gaining from everybody's experience!

jinx1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:18 PM   #2  

Height: 5'8"

Welcome Jinx, I love your Avatar. South Beach truly is great. There are lots of great recipes here and posting your daily food on the "on plan" thread is a GREAT way to be accountable.
Mmckellen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 07:19 PM   #3  
OMW to a brand new me!

S/C/G: 312/seeticker/135

Height: 5'1"

Welcome.

What attracted me to SBD to begin with was the way it incorporates "normal" eating into the plan. I have always thought that diets that excluded things, or made you buy their food were not at all sustainable because you were not able to live and eat "normally". And lets think about that, if those "prepackaged" diets were sustainable, they would not be the big business that they are. They are COUNTING on you staying on them for life, or gaining weight back and coming back.

With SBD I just learned a new "normal". And while I on occasion find myself slipping back into old habits, I quickly rebound and FEEL so much better. That was my biggest motivator to stick with it, because I FELT so much better. Weight loss was just an added bonus