Old 04-28-2006, 05:26 PM   #1  

Default "Atkins can KILL you!"

I have ran into some optimistic friends of the Atkins / low carbing.
They insist I will get cancer at a early age and even age prematurely, killing the earth, creating to much waste in the world, the list goes on and on...
I know the possibilities of Atkins, but I feel it out ways what I face now.
I binge on junk and am addicted to foods.
I have pcos and want a baby and I heard Atkins can help; atlest it says in his book.
I feel Dr.Atkins lived a long life. He was 70 +when he died. If I could live to be 70 I would feel my life was complete. However if I eat like I do now I may die at 56 like my mom or even sooner!

What do you tell people like this?

Have any of you faced people like this?
treecricket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 05:38 PM   #2  
Susan hockeyfan7

Well, let's see -- I've been doing this for six years and I'm not dead yet! I weigh 145 pounds less which means that I've improved my health and my life expectancy.

By eating meat and veggies, how am I creating too much waste in the world? Meat comes from an animal and veggies grow in the ground? It's people who eat Twinkies and Ho-Ho's and all those things that will still be around after a nuclear blast that are polluting the earth with the manufacturing process.

I'm eating all natural foods -- last time I checked, that is way better for me than all the chemicals in the other crap and that's going to make me look better, not prematurely age.

Tell your friends to go pound sand and do what you want and what you think is best for you.

I also have a bad habit as I'm eating chicken and veggies of telling them how much fat and calories is in their fried food and junk food.
hockeyfan7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2006, 06:09 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 221.2/186.4/170

Height: 5'7"