Old 11-06-2010, 05:06 AM   #1  
Happy Plodder

S/C/G: 238/158.9/138

Height: 5'2"

Default Cafe conversation

I was in a mall cafeteria on Thursday with a friend. She's very good hearted and kind and I do like her but I do sometimes struggle with the way she expresses her insecurities.

For example, many years ago when she was in the profession I'm in now but I was not, I remember being in a Bible study class with her. I think someone must have said how well she was getting things across and her reply was, 'Well, I'm ordinary, I speak ordinary. People who have degrees have no idea how to talk to real people'. - knowing full well, if she'd thought of it, that I have a degree and am perfectly grounded, thankyou.
And
She never comments positively on my weightloss. When I lost a lot a few years ago, the only thing she said was, 'Don't go too low, you're looking gaunt' - when actually, the problem was that for the first time ever I was taking the same dress size as her.

When we have a lunch, I will silently assess what's on offer and make my choice. She yells down the queue at me, "Now what is there here that *I* can eat?", in a way that makes me want to dunk her in the (high calorie) soup.....

So this time we approached the sandwich bar. I don't eat much bread but once a flood is OK.
She: "We could split a Christmas turkey baguette."
Me: "Fine, that'd be good."
She: "We could split one."
Me: "Yea, great."
She: "I mean, HALF of one is MORE than plenty for MMEE."
Me: "Yup, me too."
She: "And we can split the chips (home fries)."
Me: "No chips for me, thanks."
She: "You've Got to have chips."
Me: "No thanks."
Food bought, arrives at table.
She: "Do you want salt on your chips?"
Me: "I don't want Any chips, thanks."
She: "Have some chips."
Me: "No."
She: "(Sighs) boring."
Me: "-"

Why are some people so threatened by our healthy eating choices?