Old 10-24-2010, 11:20 AM   #1  
Keep Trying

S/C/G: 188/188/148

Height: 5'2"

Default calorie question

I am counting calories. My aim is 1500 per day and I am a beginner at exercising. I usually do lower carbs, good carbs but I am trying something different this time, something I'll be able to maintain no matter what. It will take some tweaking yet.

So, my question is... do you who count calories just worry about the total calories at the end of the day, regardless of what you eat?

For example, if you decide to eat a piece of cake or whatever even if it was higher in calories do you just count that in there and make sure you're within the range for that day or do you go over your total calories for the day OR do you cut back tomorrow in some way?

At the end of the day and at the end of the week if you eat something very sweet, high in carbs, etc though your total calories for the week are where they're supposed to be is it all ok? Do you still lose or do you get a whipping for that one bad choice in the week?

Sorry..I am just trying to figure things out. What's been your immediate and your longer term result from this?
coad786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2010, 11:49 AM   #2  
Happy Plodder

S/C/G: 238/158.9/138

Yup, if I have a bit of cake, I factor it in there and then. On the very, very, VERY rare occasions that I have a bit of unexpected cake, I knock out the meal I'd planned, so as to keep the calories right.

MOST of weightloss is about calories in/out, so one choice of something less than 'healthy' won't affect that ~ except that for a lot of us, something extra cake-carby produces water retention, so will show a scales increase, although provided it's within calories, it won't be a fat increase, just water.

"Just" is misleading though - sometimes seeing the scales go up, even if it's only a temporary fluid gain - can send us into 'blow it, I might as well go the whole hog and binge' kind of mindset.
Rosinante is offline   Reply With Quote