Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 08-16-2010, 11:56 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 266/266/140

Height: 5ft4

Smile Newbie here...

Hi everyone!

My name is Sarah and i have decided to take control of my weight. I almost 27 from Devon in the UK.

I have almost always been overweight. 5 years ago i did meal replacement plan and got to 11 stone, but since i started eating again i have now put on 8 stone! Looking back i wish i had noticed the weight gain and stopped myself, but alas hindsight is a wondrous thing!

So here i am, ready for the hard work.

Thanks!
Moogles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 01:06 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 195/130/135

Height: 5'4"

Hi Sarah and welcome.

By "meal replacement" do you mean those drinks/shakes like Slimfast, etc.? What specifically did you do to lose weight the last time? How many meals per day did you replace?

I ask because it is my belief that any sort of plan that involves something we are not likely going to be able to continue with forever......is not a good plan for keeping the weight off.
And also......that any plan that makes us feel deprived isn't going to help to keep us from re-gaining either.

And the re-gain rate is very high after losing weight and in fact, most of the time, we gain it all back....plus MORE. So we get deeper and deeper into the hole.

This is why I don't do strenuous exercise in the gym and walk instead. I don't love the gym enough to keep doing it forever....so I found an alternative.....and one I can continue with no problem.

And the same goes for whatever meal plans you choose. My advice would be to choose options for weight-loss that are sustainable for the long run...both diet and exercise-wise. This can be different for different people. There are women here who LOVE working out in the gym....so that choice works well for them....but not for those who have to force themselves to go every day.