Old 07-02-2010, 08:36 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 215.5/185.5/150

Height: 5'5"

Question Experience with registered dieticians?

Hello all,

I spoke indepth with my trainer about nutrition. Basically, I've been dieting and working out for about 9 months now with very few results.

The workouts have been fairly consistent (with the exception of a surgery and periods of travel which cannot be avoided). I'm convinced I eat too many calories (I try to stay below 1500 per day).

My trainer suggested I work with a registered dietician and I'm looking into it. I just wondered if anyone here has done this and if it was helpful at all? Any advice? What I should ask or do to prepare for an appointment?

Thanks so much for looking in. I look forward to any information you might have to share.
beth4365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 08:46 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 153/148.5/125

Height: 5'3"

What types of workouts have been doing? Do you wear a HRM to see how many calories you're burning? Maybe you aren't eating enough?
rritchey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 09:06 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 215.5/185.5/150

Hi rritchey.

I work out with my trainer for 30 minutes at at time and either do 30 or 60 minutes of cardio afterwards. So, I work out for 60-90 minutes an average of 2-3 times per week. I also try to bike (usually around 14 miles at a time) when I can and walk extra when I can.

As for my diet, it's not perfect, but I have been slowly moving to fewer processed foods and trying to eat smaller portions. I don't follow any plan really, other than calorie counting. I may be eating too many carbs, but I have tried to stay around 1500 per day. I can't imagine I'd need to eat more.

Anyway, despite my best efforts, my success has been very limited. I *do* see success. I am down a few pounds and must have more muscle than I did a year ago. But, I want to figure out what I'm doing wrong so that I have better results.