Old 06-09-2010, 04:19 PM   #1  

Location: A small little area in north Florida not yet discovered by tourist or developers.

S/C/G: 391/316/175

Height: 6 feet

Default About sponsorship

I'm new to OA, having started a couple of months ago. I got a sponsor this past week. I'm not sure what to expect from my sponsor.

So far, I am sending daily emails with my meal plans and a closing email with how I did on the meal plan. Our group encourages sponsors to support the sponsees. Likewise, sponsees are encouraged to use sponsors for support.

I realize my sponsor is not my therapist and isn’t there to solve life's problems. Beyond that, I don't know what the boundaries are. How detailed does the sponsorship go? I guess I'm wondering how to interact with my sponsor. I don't want to dump my problems on my sponsor or seem too needy, but I don't want to seem disinterested either.

Thanks,
Lance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:22 PM   #2  
PCOS/IR/Hypothyroid

Height: 5'8"

Why not just ask your sponsor these questions? Then you get the boundaries right from them.

GL!
A.
astrophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:29 PM   #3  

Location: A small little area in north Florida not yet discovered by tourist or developers.

I've asked at our initial meeting and a couple of times in emails. So far, the only responce is that there's an expection of an email food plan in the morning and an email of how I did in the evening. I don't really know if I should take that as the minimum or maximum
Old 06-09-2010, 04:43 PM   #4  
PCOS/IR/Hypothyroid

Height: 5'8"

So ask the next time you email bits from your posts... maybe something like...