Closed Thread

Old 01-04-2003, 11:46 PM   #1  

Default Hi, may I join you?

Hi there,

I was wondering if I could join you? I've read some of your posts and you all see so supportive and realisitc.

I live just outside of Boston. I'm 43. I've been married for15 1/2 years and have two young children (ages 6 and 3 1/2). I've been heavy all my life, despite the fact that I was very active in my teens and 20s. I was about 30lbs overweight when I graduated high school yet I was a figure skater (not a very good one -- lol) on the ice 12+ hours a week, I actually ENJOYED phys ed class and during the warmer months I'd bike ride for exercise BEFORE school.

I am now at the heaviest I've ever been, about 130 pounds overweight --- eek!!! It's just sort of crept on, a little each year. I can't blame having kids for it ... my oldest is adopted and my 2nd a biological surprise ... and 6 weeks after I had her I was 22 lbs lighter than when I became pg. eeek!! But, that's all back now.

I'm not as active as I used to be but I did a lot of walking last year ... I work in a very hilly section of town and walked hills for 45 mins to an hour most weekdays. I didn't lose any weight, but I got conditioned enough to do a 20 mile charity walk last May!!! The walking subsided when the workload got heavy and the weather lousy ... we've had lots more snow than usual this year and it's only January 4th!