Old 06-21-2010, 11:56 AM   #1  
Ashley

S/C/G: 349/333.4/170

Height: 5'9"

Red face Excess skin after weight loss

Hey everyone! I am just starting out on my WL journey and one of my BIG concerns is having excess skin after losing the weight (cause I AM gonna lose it). I know I will never be able to afford to have it removed later. Is there any suggestions out there? Is there anything that I can do along the way that will help with this? Just curious if anyone else has these concerns or if anyone has had any success in avoiding large amounts of excess skin. Thanks!!!
ablentlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 12:26 PM   #2  

S/C/G: SW:394/310/180

Height: 5'6"

I've always heard that losing slowly can help, but now I'm not so sure. It's taken me a very long time to lose my 80plus pounds. My average weight loss is about 1/2 a pound a week or less, which at my size is tortoise-slow, and I'm already noticing spots of oddly loose skin.

Some people get very loose skin when they get older, even when they've never been overweight. So just getting older might be half of my problem.

I don't think there's a lot you can do about it. Exercise can improve the muscle tone under the skin, but I don't think there's much you can do to get the skin to actually shrink. There are tons of products on the market that claim to restore the elasticity to your skin, but most are just moisturizers (they don't really shrink the skin, and may make it look only a tiny bit better. The expensive products aren't any more effective than the cheapest).

I've heard rumors that there are expensive prescription products that can help (expensive, but cheaper than surgery), but nothing miraculous or even dramatic.

A lot of people find it not as bad as they expected, and a lot of people find it a lot worse. I think it's mostly a crapshoot, so hope for the best, but prepare for the worst.