Old 12-13-2007, 09:19 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 328/328/200

Height: 5'11"

Default Tricks of the Trade? :)

First of all - you might be the nicest people I have even encountered on a board and I am really happy I found this site. I was really feeling low last night and thanks to a few kind strangers, I am feeling much better and very motivated today.

In the past, the most success I have had has been with a very low carb diet. I am having trouble getting back on and sticking to it.

I am a terrible cook and am often eating on the run. I am not great at remembering to prep food.

I need any and all suggestions for what works out there for menu plans, snack ideas, easy prep foods, good stuff to have in the pantry.

Thanks so much for your help.
KPfinnegan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 09:41 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 295/225/back to Onederland

Height: 5'5"

Glad to help!! As you can tell, we like to talk about this stuff!

A lot of this depends on what you like, and what fits in your lifestyle, so pick and choose. I'm sure others will chime in.

First and foremost, I would say that you need to find ways to get yourself to do whatever basic prep you need. For example, I bring snacks and lunch to work everyday. It keeps me away from the vending machine (where I used to find many a Frito-filled lunch) and gives me healthier food so I'm a little less hungry. But the system only works if I a) pack the food and b) bring the food! I often spend some time Sunday nights packing up bags of veggies and nuts and all that, so I can just grab in the mornings. And I keep a "stash" of stuff in my desk at work most of the time...

Anyway, I'll start with a lot of my "on the go" snacks... many of these are low carb:

- bags of fresh raw veggies (carrots, cucumber, sugar snap peas, radishes, bell pepper strips)
- hummus sometimes (for the veggies!)
- hard boiled egg
- string cheese or baby bel cheese
- yogurt