3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   30-Somethings (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/30-somethings-57/)
-   -   Kia Ora-- Newbie here! (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/30-somethings/165887-kia-ora-newbie-here.html)

Mollz 03-02-2009 09:12 PM

Kia Ora-- Newbie here!

Hi everyone.

I'm Mollie, just call me Mollz.

I'm from New Orleans, but living in New Zealand with my hubby and 3 fuzzy children (no real ones, I'm afraid). I wonder if I should be in the 20-somethings, but ****, I'm almost 30. I've got a few more months to go.

Just a little about me:
I'm very active. I'm at the gym 5 days a week, and spend a lot of time with weights more than cardio. I'm also working towards 3 black belts: kendo (sword work), karate and aikido (currently 2 belt levels away from black in each) and go to the dojo 4 days a week for two hours at a time. Plus I walk the dog for an hour a day. So, yeah, very active. :D The weight just isn't coming off. :cry:

I've been trying to lose the weight since I was a teenager and have had a reasonable amount of success. From my heaviest to now, I've lost 30 pounds (in about 2 years). But I've got a long way to go and I find it doubly hard since I'm doing this all on my own with very little support from my family (they're all either very fat and don't care, or very thin and don't understand)- my husband is trying but sometimes I think he struggles to understand why I need to lose the weight.

So, I guess I'll see you around.

Cheers.
Mollz

daydreamer 03-02-2009 10:44 PM

Hi Mollz! You do sound very active. Have you seen a doctor to find out if there is a medical reason that you're not losing weight? I know the thyroid can cause major problems for some people.

SamanthaJubilee 03-03-2009 12:42 PM