Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 10-25-2009, 12:55 PM   #1  
I'm A Work In Progress!

S/C/G: 232/see ticker/170

Height: 5'4"

Default What was your "UGH!" moment?

I am just starting out, as I have said in other posts. I was just wondering if you could share what the moment was like for you when you became committed?

I was sitting on my bed changing my daughter's diaper and I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror. That was just a few days ago, and up until that point, I think I tried to avoid looking at myself in the mirror at all, besides above my neck. I thought to myself, "My god...how did I get so fat?!" And, that was my moment. Well, the BIG moment anyway. There were several other moments, too. But, that was the one that got me started.

Care to share yours?
alyssamichelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 01:13 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 285/180/160

Height: 5'9"

My biggest "ugh" moment actually happened a while before I decided to start loosing weight.

I'm in a sorority, I know my sisters don't care that I'm heavy but for a while, I was one of the heaviest women we have in chapter. For formal recruitment (the new PC term for Rush), we all order the same shirt. Chapter's order only when through a size XL through American Apparel, which runs notoriously small; there was no way that I was going to fit into an XL. And while it seems like just a shirt, without these shirts, I don't go to Recruitment, and not going to Recruitment means I have no say in the women who will then become my sisters.

So I had to email and call and beg to see if American Apparel even carried a XXL, pay more money per shirt to even be able to order that size and still had to wear Spanx the whole weekend. It was one of the most humiliating experiences I've had because normally, I can just buy clothes that fit and no one has to know the size. I just couldn't believe that my