Old 08-05-2009, 10:07 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 193/169/145

Height: 5'6"

Default Counting calories vs. Weight Watchers??

Hi, I'm relatively new to counting calories (about 3 months off & on). I know I need to track my eating to stay on course, but honestly all the counting is a bit triggering for me. So my question is, would WW be a better choice for someone like me? As I understand it, they go by points, not cals. Thanks!

Last edited by kellygram; 08-05-2009 at 10:08 AM.
kellygram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 10:21 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'

I prefer counting calories as it is something you can carry on into maintenance and the rest of your life. It is really not difficult and is preferable to having to wear extra large clothing. It is also free.
bargoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 10:38 AM   #3  

I've done both. I've done weight watchers 3 times over about 8 years. I prefer calorie counting and coming here for support. If you feel like it would motivate you more and you can afford it, it may help you to do weight watchers. It was just way too expense for me and wasn't helping me lose weight.
wendyland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:10 AM   #4  

You count points for WW but there is a lot of figuring how many points a food is. I've been both ways and calorie counting is easier for me.
QuilterInVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 11:23 AM   #5  
video game junkie

S/C/G: 201/see ticker/150

Height: 5'5"

I've been doing weight watchers on and off to lose weight, but recently have been counting calories as well. Since I log all my foods into sparkpeople (for calorie counting) and Edibles (for WW points) I've decided to switch to calorie counting exclusively since I get a far better look at my other nutritional values (not just calories, fat and fiber) with the calorie counting online.