Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Closed Thread

Old 11-09-2002, 11:30 AM   #1  
grateful

Unhappy I Need Advice--help--support

Hello to everyone!! This is my first time to post on this forum. First I would like to say hello to debkay and jiffypop. I have been reading a lot of your entries and you both sound very informed about this procedure. debkay what were your complications? Are you the one that almost died? What happened if you don't mind my asking?

O.K. sorry for the length of this but I need to explain myself as best as I can.

After months and months of searching the internet and my heart and praying endless prayers about this I have come to the decision that I want to have this surgery. I am talking about gastric bypass using the laproscopic procedure, not open procedure. I live in the northeastern section of Mississippi and there are facilities in the adjoining state of Alabama who perform this procedure. I want to hear from anyone and everyone but would especially like to hear from someone in my area of the world who has had the surgery done in the Birmingham, Alabama or Huntsville, Alabama area. I have Blue Cross and Blue Shield insurance. I am very limited on funds so I really need this approved by insurance if possible.

Some about me. I am a 37 year old woman. I am 5'2" and weigh approximately 256 lbs. Now while this may not sound like much to the ones of you who have 200-300 to lose, for my small frame I am grossly, morbidly obese, my BMI is 44 and my stomach rests on my legs. I can only wear stretch clothes, haven't worn jeans of any kind for years. I stay at home most of the time secluded because I am so ashamed of myself and appearance. I have children and I want to do things with them and enjoy life. My only 2 hang ups about this procedure have been, (1) the fear of dying and leaving my children and (2) not being able to afford to do this because of insurance denial.