Old 06-19-2009, 05:00 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 247/235/150

Height: 5 ft. 4

Default Newbie needs advice

Hello chicks and gents! I have been lurking here for a couple of months and check here daily for information and inspiration. I have been dieting for about two months now, and I don't seem to be losing any weight. At first I did not have a scale, but did measure my waist. After the first month, I had lost a couple inches so I thought I was doing pretty well. I bought a scale and a recumbent bike on May 25th. I started out at 247 and riding my bike for 15 minutes 6 days a week and also lifting 5 lb. weights every other day.

I am now up to 30 minutes a day and am lifting 10lb. weights. I am following the Insulin Resistance diet (I have PCOS), but I am also counting calories. I am weighing and measuring everything and most days end out around 1650 or less calories a day. I always drink at least 8 glasses of water a day.

So it has been almost 4 weeks since I bought the scale and bike, and I haven't lost anything! I did lose an additional inch on my waist, hips, and chest the 1st week, but nothing since then. The scale has fluctuated between 245, 246, and a recent scary day at 248. Since I was a couch potato before I started all this, I guess I though I would see some progress by now.

I am not at the point where I want to give up - but I can see it happening if the months keep rolling by with no progress. I think maybe I just need to tweak something, just not sure what that is. More calories? Less calories? What do you think? I would love to get some advice and maybe a little encouragement. Thanks!
alliebaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 05:16 PM   #2  
Never want to go back!

S/C/G: 338.4/190.8/165

Height: 6 ft

It's only a guess, but it sounds like you may need to lower your calories. That has to be frustrating! Given what you described, I would have expected much better results too if I were in your position.