Whole Foods Lifestyle For discussion of whole foods and more natural diets.

Old 06-14-2009, 08:07 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 240/230/128

Height: 5'4

Default For those who follow a whole food diet how much do you spend a wk on food?

I know this is probably a really stupid question but it seems that all the food that's actually good for you is a lot more expensive. DH and I have four young children and we are on a budget so I was wondering approx. how much a week do you spend for an adult who follows the whole foods lifestyle? Also, if you have children who follow the same "diet" of whole foods, how much do you spend on their food a week and what age are they? We have a 10, 9, 4, and a 2 year old. I would like to convert them to a much healthier food plan. I want to convert myself but I am still learning and wondering the cost. Thanks!
Dendrobate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 09:07 PM   #2  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

I don't have kids and I generally have a few splurge items so it really depends but in a month, I spend around $300 for 2 people.

I was reading a blog of a mother and child who follows a whole foods diet and her goal is to spend $3.33/day and she does it.
http://melomeals.blogspot.com/

Bulk is your friend if you have good options. Co-ops and Whole Foods generally have decent if not excellent bulk food sections.

Asian markets if you have them again are good options. I can walk out of an asian market with 5 bags of groceries for $20. We have korean markets but also some Indian markets. Oh and spices are definitely cheaper at the Indian markets.
nelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2009, 10:55 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 218/175/155

Well, it can be more expensive, but it doesn't need to be. A cheap whole foods diet can be a little bit more work in the kitchen, which I think is totally worth it!