Old 06-13-2009, 05:50 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 264 / 150

Height: 5'4"

Question How to stay motivated?

Newbie here. I have about 110 lbs. to lose. How is it possible to stay motivated when you have that much weight to lose? So many times I've started to change my lifestyle only to fall off the wagon. I stay motivated for a month, maybe 3 and then boom.......I go back to my old ways. If my insurance covered it, I'd have weight loss surgery in a heartbeat. But, I really don't want to do something that drastic. I'm here for support and encouragement. Will provide for others as well.
Stormkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:22 PM   #2  
Once more, with feeling!

S/C/G: 235/ticker/135

Height: 5'4

Well first off, welcome!

I guess the first thing I'd advise you to do is check out the GOAL section, especially the Goal photos. Read the stories of other posters who have lost tremendous amounts of weight and see what a difference it has made in their lives.

Then understand that it's not about "motivation" or "willpower." Those will falter for even the most dedicated, iron-willed person. It's about commitment. Recognizing that you are worth it and committing yourself to a fight for your life, your health, and your happiness.

This is something I have to remind myself of all the time. The other posters here are such an inspiration and when I need to bolster my commitment and remember all the reasons why I want to lose this weight, I come here. I see people who have lost twice what I need to lose under far more difficult circumstances than I have to deal with.

And always remember, you can do this.
KnitALisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:29 PM   #3  
Failure is not an option!

S/C/G: 254/205.6/154

Height: 5'6"

Hi Stormkitty,