Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 05-28-2009, 10:50 AM   #1  
Fox

S/C/G: 205/197/160

Height: 5'5"

Default Not Sure If I'm Eating Enough?

I followed a link from another post here that calculates your daily caloric needs using the Harris Benedict formula. I understand that online calculators certainly aren't accurate for everyone because we're all different but I'm sort of floundering around here on how many calories I need.

In a nutshell I usually eat around 1400 calories a day with an occasional higher day (around 2000) followed by a lower (around 1200-1300). I work out an average of 4 times a week at the gym, usually 2 days weight lifting (with a short cardio warmup) and 2 days just cardio, I'm usually there for 40 minutes to an hour. I work in a lab so I'm on my feet standing and walking around most of the day but no real physical labor.

What this all comes down to is that I'm losing at a snails pace since I started exercising 3 weeks ago (and in truth I was losing pretty darn slow before that too!), I've only lost about a pound (and then put 3 back on thanks to a Memorial Day binge! I'm crossing my fingers that it's mostly water weight).

Do you think I'm not getting enough calories? The Harris Benedict formula says I should be taking in 2578 calories to maintain my weight, so in theory to lose 1 lb. a week I should be eating 2000 or to lose 2 lbs. a week I should be eating 1500, but that's around what I'm eating! I'm pretty positive I'm not having calories "sneaking" into my diet. I drink only water and keep track of everything I eat, even when I have "just 1 bite" of something I count it in. I've also been taking my measurements and have not lost anything in inches in the past month.