Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 05-10-2009, 11:11 PM   #1  
Don't turn back.

S/C/G: 262/(ticker)/153

Height: 5'6"

Default Starting off with a plan...

Hi all. I'm brand new to the idea of weight training. My dad and his wife are both accomplished body builders (my dad's been lifting for 30 plus years), both in training right now for competition, and they have a really nice gym built into their house. I've been struggling with excersize for awhile now, relying mostly on diet. This weekend I went up to visit my dad, however, and asked him to give me a run down on his weight machines as to what workouts he thought I should be doing. While we were going through the sets I realized that I really enjoyed it, it was like my muscles waking up from a very, very long nap. I've got free access to the gym on my college campus and I realized, why shouldn't I learn to weight lift? So I asked my dad to make me out a plan to follow for workouts and such and he gave me the following:

Cardio every day, 30 minutes working up to an hour.
2-3 workouts a week, no two days in a row.
Workout:
Squats 2 sets x 10
Bench Press 2 sets x 10
Shoulder Press 2 x 6-8
Bent Rows 2 x 10-12
Pull-Downs 2 x 10-12
Bicep Curl 2 x 6-8
Tricep Press 2 x 6-8
Crunches 3 x 10
Reverse Crunches 3 x 10
Oblique Crunches 3 x 10

He says to work my way up from an empty bar (I'm just starting out) to adding more weight once I can do all the reps of each set. He says I ought to keep a food and workout journal, and taught me the basics of eating clean and carbs to protein ratios.
I guess my question is, are there any support groups here I could join to grow my knowledge? Does his plan look sound and effective? Any suggestions?
I'm just totally new to this and not quite sure of myself. I feel pleasantly sore today after a couple of light workouts and some cardio this weekend. I'm hoping I can meet some more experienced lifters or join up with others who are just starting out.