South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Closed Thread

Old 04-01-2009, 01:38 PM   #1  

Smile New Beach Girl...

Hi everyone, my name is Wendy and I'm new to the beach. I'm on day 3, bought the book (read the bood), went here and printed off a bunch of recipes and would say i'm doing fairly well. I've been on other diet programs but deceided to do this one becasue of my DH, he has high triglycerides and in doing my research online this is one of the best for lowering them, not to mention I have about 130lbs to lose.

I do have a couple of questions....
1) what i can't understand is, is SB a free for all with the healhty meats and veggis (phase 1). What helps me with diets (or did) was knowing my limitations. I like knowing how much I'm allowed, like the sweets.. i know i can have sugar free but only up to 100 cal or less a day.

and two, i feel like I'm cheating. For instance today for lunch i had left over taco bake (which i made in a 9x9 pan, cut 4 ways). I used the fat free refried beans, 96%lean hamburger meat and tomato paste/chilis/a little taco seasoning
a cup of lettuce,
a whole cucumber w/ 2tbsp dressing(it had sugar but only 3grams)
2tbsp sour cream
2tbsp salsa

Was this way too much? I want to make sure i'm doing this right but feel almost lost since I have to make the decision and no one is telling me you have have this much of item 1 and this much of item 2 and what the servings are. I've never done real good with calorie counting.

Ok, so now I'm rambling... If you have made it this far thank you so much for reading, hopefully i can get the hang of this and thank you for all your help. I have read through so many posts and they do help.

TIA
Old 04-01-2009, 06:58 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 186/147/135

Height: 5'1"

to The Beach, Wendy!
It sounds like you are off to a great start, and I'm so glad you read the book first! You'll find plenty of help and support here to keep you motivated and successful in your weight loss.