Whole Foods Lifestyle For discussion of whole foods and more natural diets.

Old 03-24-2009, 07:52 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 192/190/145

Height: 5'7"

Default Tips for baking bread?

I'm new to the idea and am not really sure where to start... do I need a bread maker? What should I look for when buying one? Any other good tips? My daugther is 2 and I want to start feeding her more wholesome bread (without HFCS!)... Thanks!!
waterski chick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 08:38 AM   #2  
Girl Gone Strong

S/C/G: (H)247/(C)159/(Goal)142-138

Height: 5'3"

I started baking my own bread 17 years ago because I was frustrated with the quality of bread then available to me & also, after being horrified by the ingredients in store-bought bread, because I wanted to control the ingredients & quality.

(Back then, if I wanted a decent 100% whole wheat loaf, I had to drive downtown, where a women's co-op called On the Rise was making fabulous loaves. These bandana-wearing, nose-pierced ladies were called "hippies" by some of the older people I knew -- in the 80s, that was a rather archaic term. But I couldn't get healthy whole grain artisan bread anywhere else, really. That was the Dark Ages & the bread-baking renaissance hadn't yet spread to where I lived then. I liked supporting the ladies' efforts but wanted to be able to do this bread-making thing myself.)

Anyway, here's how I did it:

Go to your local library, get out some books on bread-baking & read up on it. Since the aforementioned bread-baking renaissance in the late 80s, there have been a lot great books on the subject & a lot of general cookbooks that include bread recipes.