Old 01-29-2009, 04:47 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 212/203/154

Height: 5'8"

Default Atkins the third or forth time round?

Does it still work? Or has your body learnt by your previous mistakes and holds on to that fat?

I ask because I lost loads on atkins the first time around then I got pregnant and it all piled back on. Had the baby did atkins again lost a stone then got pregnant again and its all back again.

I've read somewhere that it won't work a third time as sucessfully- is this really true, has anyone ny experience of this? I loved atkins but thought this time around I would just try calorie counting but its just not working

tHANK YOU.
TracyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 09:33 AM   #2  
Larry's Angel

Location: NW New Jersey But, My Heart's In Pittsburgh!! GO STEELERS & PENGUINS!!!

S/C/G: 245/143/145

Hi Tracy,

I'm not speaking from experience (I've been doing Atkins for almost 5 years now) but...I know a lot of people who have done it a few times and like any other eating plan, you get out of it what you are willing to put into it. By that I mean, before you begin, you need to decide if this is something you can do long term. I am a firm believer that successful weight loss & maintenance means changing your eating habits for the rest of your life. That being said, if you don't think you can restrict carbs for the rest of your life, Atkins may not be for you.
Atkins is a regimented plan. Contrary to popular belief, it is not the "all you can eat bacon, butter & red meat diet". Done correctly, it is healthy. You've done it, you know this So, to answer your question, if you are willing to follow the Atkins plan the way it was written and exercise (Dr. Atkins said exercise is non-negotiable)...I believe you can be successful
I'm 47 years old & I feel better today than I did when I was in my 20's...it works!
All the best to you!!
JerseyGyrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 09:58 AM   #3  
nirvikalpa samadhi

S/C/G: 369.5/ticker/169.5