Old 01-06-2009, 03:43 PM   #1  
Vanilla vdka/Orange Crush

S/C/G: 150/145/130

Height: 5.5

Default Alcohol v.s. Veggies? 40's are tough

Hello. Newbie here. I'm almost 49..and have never had to think about my weight. I used to be able to eat and drink whatever I wanted. These last 6 months or so I must have been hitting the cocktails harder than usual..or do our bodies change as we get older?

My diet is the same..but I got hooked on some fun cocktails...Vanilla vodka and Diet Orange pop...or...Rasberry vodka and Diet Pepsi...YUM!. All of the sudden, my belly has really gotten big. The scale didn't say anything different but stuff was moving that didn't used to move. My clothes seemed to fit the same and I didn't really think much of it. However, the holidays seemed to have been the final straw. The scale jumped 10 lbs and now my jeans are really uncomfortable. How can that happen in what seems like a weeks time?

Is the alcohol to blame? I don't drink to get drunk..but the taste I love. I'm hoping if I quit the fun stuff, my usual diet will be OK..and the pounds/belly fat will go away??? I'm thinking of really amping up my Veggies..roasted with a little olive oil and see what happens? Are my fun drink days over? I went on line and checked the calorie content of vodka and wine...dang..it's almost like either eat or drink...but not both?

Has anyone else experienced this sudden body change? I finally thought back and realized that the only thing that changed was my vodka intake. Is this a 40's thing? YIKES!

Thanks,
K
kahlua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 03:58 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 173/in progress/140ish

Height: 5'8"

I don't know if it's a 40s thing or what. I've noticed bodily changes after switching birth control (from TriCyclen to Yaz). I seem to be more "hourglassy" now--not that I wasn't before, it just seems more pronounced or something.