Old 03-08-2001, 09:31 PM   #1  
Bacon Girlie

S/C/G: see signature

Height: 5/4

Talking

Hello! I just wanted to see if anyone would be interested in this topic as
a group. I'm a college student and yes, I'm overweight. I thought it would
be helpful to start a group discussion for fashion issues, image, anything
related to overweight men and women and their bodies.

Even though I'm overweight, I enjoy fashion, like to shop and look good,
because I do! Don't let anyone think you don't! It's all in your mind and
your stride!

If anyone has anything to share including stories about living on campus, or
in everyday life, body image, self esteem, etc, please share! I hope this works
out and that we can all post regularly!

Girlie
205/200/150 ... Only 50 little stinkers to go!
Old 03-08-2001, 11:16 PM   #2  

I love that you started this thread! I too love to look good, and I made a pact with myself that I would do SOME make-up in the morning, even though I work in a lab and hardly anyone sees me. I find that spending the 3-5 minutes to put on a little lipstick and eyeliner will determine if I have a good self-esteem day. Amazing, eh?

I took me a while to be ok with my body. I do love my body and the changes that have come with a 50 pound weight loss. I worked at Lane Bryant for a brief stint and used my discount to buy nice Fall things. I got a lot of compliments.

There are days, however, that I obsess about the fine line of loving your body and knowing that the body could be a little bit better. I do love to dress up, but I really don't work in an environment where I can do that. I live for departmental socials!

Do you know what I love to buy? Nice underwear. It's something I like to do every 3-4 months. It makes me feel really good underneath, no matter if I am wearing jeans and a sweater that day.

Thanks for posting this. I think I will be painting my nails tonight (something girly that I rarely do), but it also makes me feel good.

Abby!