General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 11-17-2008, 07:05 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 158/142/at or below 135 lbs.

Height: 5'5"

Default I don't want to pay full price for glasses!

Hi folks,

I have an eye doctor appointment Wednesday, and I know I will need a new prescription. I don't want to pay $375.00 again for glasses!

You see, I've only had glasses now for about a year and a half. Everything was getting slightly blurry, so when I went in to get tested, I was told I needed TRI focals! Yes, pretty challenging for my first pair of specs ever. Anyway, I got the precision lenses as they're called, adjusted to them, and all was well until the last month or so when I realized my eyes have gotten worse.

Since I am a novice at this glasses thing, what are my options? Can I just go in to the eye doc, get the script, and tell her I prefer to save $ and have it filled at say, WalMart? I'm not sure how it works. What I do know is that I almost fell over last time when told my bill was 375.00!!! I have insurance, so that totally surprised me.

Also, when do you know if it's time to switch to contacts?

Any ideas/advice/suggestions are welcomed in advance! Thanks!
walking2lose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:14 PM   #2  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

You can buy your glasses anywhere you want. So yes you can tell the doc that you just want the prescription.

You can buy your glasses at Walmart, Costco, etc wherever it is cheapest for you. You can even order them online.
nelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:19 PM   #3  
Moderating Mama

S/C/G: 295/200/175

Height: 5' 8"