Goal! Have you reached your goal? Share your success story and celebrate your victory!

Old 10-20-2008, 11:47 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 562.3/404/195

Height: 6'3"

Default Weight loss Anniversary & another Anniversary….

In just a few weeks, November 18, 2006 to be exact, I will have been at my goal weight for 2 years. I have lost and maintained a 350 pound weight loss. That almost seems like a typo even to me. Not only that, but last week marks the second anniversary that I first saw Nan again after 28 years. My wife Nan and I graduated high school together. I had a huge crush on her back then but was too shy to tell her. Of course it was the worst kept secret crush in the history of mankind or so I was told years later. We got married 6 months later.

Time has flown by since I hit my weight loss goal. Transition to maintenance has not been that difficult - but it has been different. You know - your weight loss phase is so active and goal driven. I find that maintenance is still goal driven but for some reason it does not feel the same. It takes a different kind of focus to keep those healthy habits that you develop along the way to your goal.

I have to confess, I had a lot of good intentions when I was getting close to my goal. I would change my goals to other related things. For example, while keeping my weight the same, try and lower my percentage of body fat. Try to increase my endurance. Well, so far, I have not done very good at that. I don’t know if I just needed a break - or if for the first time in my life, I have a full, happy satisfied active life, I have just gotten a little side tracked. I am working on increasing my cardiovascular fitness. I want to ride the MS 150 next year and I need to get in better shape to do that. If you have not read about this great organization that raises money to help fight Multiple Sclerosis, then you should take a look here http://www.ms150.org/