Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 09-23-2008, 12:56 PM   #1  
One Pound at a Time

S/C/G: 190/149/150

Height: 5'6"

Default how do you cook your tofu?

I'm new to tofu. I love getting it at Whole Foods in my salads. They have BBQ and asian sesame there. I like the texture, it's a little chewy and slightly crispy. I'm trying to duplicate this at home. I tried for the first time last night. I marinated some cubes in BBQ sauce (I got firm tofu) and tried putting them in the oven to bake. After awhile I checked and they just seemed to be hot and squishy, so I took them out and put them in a pan with some olive oil Pam. I burnt them a little trying to get them to the right texture, so they ended up tasting more like toasted marshmellows after they've caught on fire. Lol. Anyway, it was still edible but I'd like to get some recommendations from those of you who eat it regularly. What kinds of things do you marinate it in? How do you cook it and at what temps? How long?
OnceUponADrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 01:39 PM   #2  

S/C/G: oh **** no!/on my way/157

Height: 5'9"

I too love tofu! I have a great recipe called Spicy Tofu with Cashews that even my kids love. I brown the tofu in oil (I use olive) first. Take it out of the pan and cover to keep warm. Then simmer together 1 Tbsp oil, 1 Tbsp Thai chili garlic sauce and 2 tsp. minced fresh ginger. Cook that for about 1 min and then add whatever type of vegetable you want & stir-fry. While that is cooking, make a sauce of 1/4 cup lime juice, 1 tsp. brown sugar, 1/4 nam pla (Thai fish sauce). Once the veggies are nearly done, add the sauce & a few cashews, bring to simmer, add tofu and sliced fresh basil. Toss to heat through (1 min) and UMMMM!!! I use plain, firm tofu pre-cut into cubes. All the Thai seasonings can be found in grocery stores in the International foods aisle. Enjoy!