Old 09-18-2008, 12:11 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 188/see ticker/140

Height: 5'5

Red face My body is weird...

I mentioned in another thread that I'm doing the "Eat all day" diet. I just don't know how many calories I should be eating in each mini-meal. I weigh around 180 now but its not what you'd think is a "normal person's" 180. I have been a collegiate thrower and have essentially been lifting weights since I was a freshman in high school. My legs are very muscular and my arms aren't far behind and I have a large bone frame to boot.

I guess this is my problem: I don't feel like I should consume as many calories as maybe someone else my height and weight that may not have as much muscle mass. But I really have no idea what I'm talking about. I've been eating anywhere from 150-250 calories for my mini-meals for the last 2 weeks, I just wanna make sure I'm on the right track. I know a lot of people here have tons of experience with stuff so I'm hoping someone can help me out!
kelli32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 12:23 PM   #2  
*Courtney Rae*

S/C/G: 245/217/160

Im not sure about all the rules for the 'eat all day' diet. But i would think that since you have more muscle than the average 180lb person than you would need to consume more calories. Muscle burns more calories that fat does.
CandyKisses0204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 12:47 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 197/135/?

Height: 5'7"

Yeah, it's the opposite. The more muscle you have, the higher your metabolism. Declining muscle mass is part of the cause of gaining weight as you age, and also part of the reason metabolism is lower after repeated crash diets without exercise.
JulieJ08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 01:57 PM   #4  
Sleek and Fit. Finally.

S/C/G: 159/139.4/135

Height: 5'5"

I'm hopping in the more calorie boat. Muscle burns way more calories than fat, so you'll have to eat more than someone who is all fat at 180lbs...
Cats tongue is offline   Reply With Quote