Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 08-05-2008, 11:42 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 195/190/165

Height: 5"9'

Default Caffeine help!

Ok soooo, basically, I'm a student. I sleep irregular hours and drink way too much Diet Coke and coffee to stay awake to study. Lately, I've been drinking these Starbuck's energy+coffee drinks that have 200 calories in each, which is WAY to many calories, I think. I don't have more than one per day when I do drink them, but I don't think I should be having them at all, since it's not helping me lose weight. I also drink Diet Coke excessively. With that too, I've been trying to stop because I've heard that Diet Coke can help you gain weight ultimately.

I need to find another way to stay awake. Are there any substitutes to help me stay awake, other than getting enough sleep? I try to get at least 8 hours somewhere throughout the day, but it's extremely hard with the schedule I'm balancing! Any tips/advice are greatly appreciated!!!

Last edited by Muffin Top; 08-05-2008 at 11:43 PM.
Muffin Top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2008, 11:56 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 237/165.8/130

Height: 5'4"

Quote:
I've heard that Diet Coke can help you gain weight ultimately.
You have to take everything you hear with a grain of salt.

There is no proof that diet beverages make you gain weight and from what I've seen it tends to vary from person to person. Some people are adversely affected by diet drinks - either they cause sugar cravings or they have some reaction to the sweeteners. Others, not so much. I've lost 70+ pounds and I drink a Diet Coke almost every day. I don't plan to give it up, actually. I *LIKE* my Diet Coke in the afternoons.

I would drop the 200 cal Starbucks beverages and go for plain coffee or tea, or a diet drink if you need the caffeine.