Old 06-29-2008, 06:44 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 370/320/150

Height: 5'6"

Default Lets be realistic.

I'm a somewhat newbie and decided to finally post. I'm excited to say that my mother is finally having gastric bypass surgery. She has Type 2 diabetes, congestive heart failure, and high blood pressure. As I am excited and happy she is having the surgery, it lead me to view things from my own standpoint.

I have been overweight my entire life. I have no idea what it's like to be thin, or how to even be thin. Being overweight has not really bothered me, my whole family is just big people, and my self esteem has not really been low. I see the road I'm going down though, and my family. My sister and I have been on countless diets, trendy diets, exercising, you name it, we've tried it, just to get healthy. Nothing seems to work. Neither of us seem to really understand how we can actually lose weight. Does it really have to come to us both having gastric bypass to help us lose weight? I decided to post in here for help, everyone just looks at us and assumes that we've never tried to lose weight because we are so heavy. When we ask for advice from thin friends its usually "oh you look fine," or bluntly "you've not been trying hard enough." I guess ultimately what I'm trying to ask is for advice from other people who are as heavy as we are. Any help or suggestions would help us so much.
h rose20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2008, 07:20 PM   #2  

S/C/G: SW:394/310/180

Here's my viewpoint, for what it's worth. I've been overweight since kindergarten. I've been dieting since kindergarten. So much for the theory that fat adults have never tried to diet.

There are a lot of reasons people become overweight, and lots of reasons they may have found it difficult or impossible to lose weight. Few of those reasons are due to laziness, or stupidity. Sometimes the reason is trying the wrong methods, not a lack of commitment to those methods.