Old 03-14-2008, 06:54 PM   #1  
On My Road To Good Health

S/C/G: 286/256/160

Height: 5'9"

Smile Health Care Workers Getting Healthy

I thought it might be interesting to see if there are any health care workers out there: doctors, nurses, dieticians, aides, etc. that might be interested in joining a support thread.

I am a school nurse, and obviously overweight. With the prevalance of childhood obesity, I made up my mind last September to set a better example of good health for my family, students, peers, and faculty I work with. Thus, this journey began...

Thirty pounds are now gone forever, with another 76-96 to go! Anyone out there interested in sharing their challenges and thoughts here?

Have a great day! Bethz
bethz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 07:25 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 195/185/130

Height: 5'3-4"

I am also a nurse! I was in the intensive care for a number of years and now I am working in the PACU. I work every other weekend 12 hr shifts and those seem to be hard to stay on track. I also have to take call and when I am there in the wee hours of the morning, my whole next day is completely thrown off and I tend to make bad choices (sweets, comfort foods).

I have been going to the gym but kids, being on call and any other excuse can tend to throw me off...trying to eat more whole foods and just healthier. Sounds easy but for some reason I tend to make it more difficult

Way to go on your weight loss!! How did you lose it??
macygrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 07:32 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 156/150/130

Height: 5'4

I'm a paramedic and feel like a hypocrite preaching to my patients when I'm not taking care of myself. My family and health are my #1 motivators, but my patients are up in the top5. Also, lugging people up and down stairs, hills, mountains, and out of cars is much more difficult when I'm heavier.
winning the war is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2008, 08:49 PM   #4  

Smile How did I do it?