Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 03-19-2008, 11:26 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 257/236/150

Height: 5'5"

Default Help I'm a newbie

I just started exercising in Febuary, and I now walk 2 to 3 miles a day 5 days a week and I also ride a recumbent exercise bike every so often. I know I need to build muscle but how? I am totally lost. I don't belong to a gym so can someone recommend what type of weights I should buy? What types of exercise should I begin with?
cathbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 02:17 PM   #2  
Working My Way Back Down

Hi -

Try looking at some of the stickied threads above, and have a look at this this website. Krista has lots of good advice, and beginner's stuff too. Another place is the Strong Women website here if you've never been exposed to any weight/resistance training. It's a great thing to do for yourself, and be sure to come back with questions.
WaterRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 03:43 PM   #3  

What size weights should I start with? Target has a set for $59.99 the weights in the pack are 3, 5, and 8 lbs. Is this to light or about average for beginners?
Old 03-19-2008, 03:45 PM   #4  

Thanks for the websites. I ordered Strong women stay slim. I think it is just what I need to start.
Old 03-19-2008, 11:47 PM   #5  

Well I bought the weights and a few books so I will give it a shot. I'm sure I will be back with plenty of questions.
Old 03-20-2008, 09:55 AM   #6  
Kallos Sthenos

S/C/G: 188/127/120

Height: 5'3''

Hi Cathbro and

Congratulations on your loss so far! How are the new weights working out for you? I read the Strong Women Stay Slim book a while ago too. I really enjoyed her book as well as the Strong Women Stay Strong. The sites that Pat suggested are wonderful for weight training. The day I found Krista's Stumptuous site it was the beginning of a new day for me. Spend lots of time there and learn as much as you can about form.