Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-16-2008, 10:55 PM   #1  
Running Fiend.

S/C/G: 210/165/145

Height: 5'7.5"

Angry Gym rant...

Okay so...I almost had a conniption at the gym today:

I go to the gym on campus because it's cheap and really convenient because I can do my workouts in between classes and there's no traveling required. Before I came to university I went to an all-women's gym with my mum but it never occurred to me that it'd be such a drastic change to have to workout with guys. I've been doing it for two years but I never noticed the problems so much until I started changing my routine. Today was the final straw and I just have to get this off my chest...

So, I circuit train and the idea is that I do like a set of lat pull downs, a set of leg press, jump rope for a minute. I do that circuit three times. So I do my first circuit and just as I'm about to start my second this guy gets on the leg press machine before me. Fine. Cool. I still had to do my lats. Well...apparently this guy doesn't think he should have to wait for a machine because it was the only leg press working at the moment and HE THINKS it's appropriate to leave his water bottle/id card on the machine to "save it". He then proceeds to walk away to do three different exercises before returning to the leg press. He was away from the machine for 10 MINUTES. I was so furious I was just about to throw his stuff off the machine and do my set when he returned and decided to sit on the machine for a nice, long drink of water. Anyway, I did squats in place of the leg press but I swear to god, I almost lost it. Had I "saved" the machine after my first set he would've been out of luck...or he would've probably just tossed my stuff on the floor. It's just so frustrating. Way to have no sense of common decency. You're not the only person in the gym!