Old 03-12-2008, 10:41 PM   #1  

Height: 5'5"

Default Lack of Walking Progress

I was so proud of myself, I've been walking at least 30 minutes daily for about three months now. Yesterday I decided to tackle our hill from the bottom, walking up to the top (not a huge hill, maybe 250 feet, but straight up). Even being in better shape than I was, I started huffing and puffing on the way up, got all sweaty, and didn't really notice much difference in my physical abilities than before I started all the walking. Uphill is such a difference from walking on flat surfaces. I guess I won't really notice any difference until I lose a lot more weight or start climbing that darn hill every day. Sigh.
PaulaM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 10:53 PM   #2  
In Onderland!!!!

S/C/G: 227/227/140

Height: 5'4

I did something similar today. I have been walking on a flat track at the park and then today I went to a different park and walked. Well, their track has inclines on it and my legs really felt it! *lol* I've decided to add that park into my routine every other day to get that huffy puffy heart raising feeling!
wendymeows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 11:19 PM   #3  
Anne

S/C/G: 407/358-Dec2007/tracker/125

Height: 5'4"

Even at my top weight I could walk for hours on a flat surface (I had to at work). However, stairs killed me. You use different muscles for walking and climbing. You seem to already know that to build your endurance you could try walking the hill more often. Good luck!
RealCdn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 11:31 PM   #4  

I love Wendy's attitude about it all. Actually, Anne's and Paula's too. I've been exercising regularly for about ten months now, and I crave that huffy puffy / sweaty feeling so that I can feel as though I've accomplished something. Great work on recognizing ways to improve your fitness routine.

And, Anne, 82 lbs??? Wow! That's amazing! I'm hoping to get there myself sometime soon.