Old 01-10-2008, 01:01 AM   #1  

Default Can LC work for people with insulin resistance?

Hi, I'm new to this LC forum. I have had trouble losing wieght in the past and found out that I am insulin resistant. I have been told that I need to lower my carbs and eat more protein in order to lose weight. I would love some words that will reassure me that the weight will come off. Reading your posts has given me some inspiration... I guess I feel like it won't happen and I'm afraid to really give it a go... but I'm ready if it will really work. Ok.. that sounds lame. Lol. Just wondered if anyone else is doing LC with insulin resistance? Thanks!
sugarbaby269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 10:18 AM   #2  
lilybelle

S/C/G: 234/142/145

Height: 5'7

I have Insulin Resistance and my doctor specifically told me that Low Carb was the way to go to be able for me to lose weight. He was 100% right. I've tried calorie counting, and lowfat diets with IR and can't seem to get the weight off. Give it a try, it will work for you too. I will add that my Dr. does prefer SBD over Atkins, but Atkins is what works best for me.

When I would try the other "diets", I would give up cause the weight wasn't coming off and it got so frustrating that I couldn't take it.

Last edited by lilybelle; 01-10-2008 at 10:19 AM.
lilybelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 12:23 PM   #3  

How was your IR diagnosed? Mine, I just believe exists.
JerseyGirl69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2008, 02:36 PM   #4  

Thanks Lilybelle for the comment. I am happy to say that I got on the scales today and have lost 4 pounds!! I'm a bit shocked because I didn't think this would really work. I haven't started the induction yet, but have lowered my carbs considerably and am waiting for the chance to head into town to do some grocery shopping. (Today or tomorrow)