Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 02-19-2008, 04:24 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 225/198.2/150

Height: 5'5

Default Weight training without cardio?

I'm so frustrated. I've been nursing this ankle "injury" tarsal tunnel thing for over 4 months now. I've been cleared to do exercise by physical therapy. I started doing nautilus and the treadmill, since swimming was becoming boring and I don't feel like I'm getting a full workout. Anyway, even at a slow pace (on the treadmill) my ankle just doesn't feel right and I don't want to push it. I have no problems with any of the nautilus machines and I actually feel good afterwards. I want to get into weight training and I just ordered the new rules of lifting for women, but it hasn't gotten here yet.

So.....finally....my question is this....can I JUST do nautilus until I figure out the weight training thing...and THEN....JUST do the weight training without ANY cardio? Will I continue to lose weight? Should I stop doing nautilus when I start lifting weights?

I KNOW I'm clueless. Please have patience with me.

I am open for all suggestions. Thank you.

Last edited by missingmyerica; 02-19-2008 at 04:25 PM.
missingmyerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 04:29 PM   #2  
Ilene the Bean

Absolutely do weights only!! For years I did weight training without cardio and I did lose some weight but I do lose more when cardio is included in the equation... so until you can do more cardio, it's great that you weight train only, imagine the muscles under the fat when you will be able to resume the cardio ....

Last edited by Ilene; 02-19-2008 at 04:29 PM.
Ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 04:44 PM   #3  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

I'm with Ilene. I've always favored weights over cardio. I love weights, cardio is not my friend
nelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 05:21 PM   #4  
the one on the left

S/C/G: 215/ticker/150

Height: 5'7"