Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 01-31-2008, 10:38 PM   #1  
making progress again!

S/C/G: 210/208.4/170

Height: 5'8"

Default Great Idea!

I just wanted to share a mini-success that I had. I am a teacher at a local high school and our school district is focused on wellness right now. The rival high school challenged our staff to a "biggest loser" (like the TV show) competition. We weigh in every week between Jan 23 and May 1, there are mini incentives along the way and over 50 people from each school signed up! I am so proud of our school for doing this and so many people being interested in becoming healthier. It has provided me with incredible motivation, now when I see that cookie I think "I don't want to let my whole school down". I lost 7.5 lb in the first week!!! I am so proud of myself. I wanted to share what a great motivator this competition has been. Maybe some of you could adapt it to fit your own professions or social groups.

Stay strong!
mamatoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 08:02 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 235/228/199

Height: 5'3

Ooooh! I don't think my school would go for that, but we have a theme this year of "building healthier communities," which includes healthier bodies. Maybe I should suggest this.
emmyroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 08:37 PM   #3  
2 wheels is plenty :D

S/C/G: 264/195/150

Height: 5'4"

toni!!!
chick_in_the_hat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 09:30 PM   #4  
Ilene the Bean

What an awesome idea... You must have very large schools to be able to recruit 50 teachers from each school?...

Great work, keep it up ... Keep us posted on your progress too
Ilene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 10:43 PM   #5  

WTG! I am doing a competition with my job, too. But my numbers haven't been as good as that!!! Congrats!
CindiRella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 05:18 PM   #6  

S/C/G: 252/215/150

Height: 5'10