Fat Figure Skater

• I'm coming back here because I need support. I'm about to leave for a week long vacation in Portland (for a conference for my career) where I plan on trying new food, but also being very aware of what I eat because I don't want to come back 10 pounds heavier.

I am an illustrator for a living and over the last year and a half my health went to the wayside while I worked to get my business going and my name out there. That was successful, but sadly I put on 20 pounds (maybe more at this point) and I'm terribly unhappy with how I look.

On top of this, I figure skate. I'm not far along, but if you know skating I'm testing pre-juvenile/juvenile moves in the field and adult bronze freestyle in November. I don't want to be this weight for my test. Ideally I would love to be down 40 pounds by November, which I think is doable if I stick to this and really overhaul my diet. I have a major carb addiction and that works against me.

I just need support. I need to stay active here and have people that can help cheer me on and know I'm not alone.
  • Congratulations on getting your business going! That's amazing. It's a shame your weight suffered a bit, but it happens. Time to forgive yourself for it and think positively about your future weight loss journey.

Try not to think of yourself as a fat figure skater, you're a figure skater. Your weight is only important to you and if you're unhappy with it then let's work on trying to change.

So tell us how tall you are, how much you weigh and what your plan is.
  • That's amazing that you figure skate. I like to skate as well, but Im terrible at it.
  • Thanks guys.

I'm 5'0", 5'1" on a good day haha. Last I checked I was 170 pounds. I've been told I don't look it, because I have muscle, but there's definitely a lot of fat there.