TOM and Feeling Very Bad

• Oh folks, I am currently on my TOM and the scale has jumped up. Unfortunately, I am on the third day and it still isn't going down. I've realized tihs 184 is real and that means I've gained five pounds in about two weeks. Its really depressing. I just feel completely disgusting and just like there's no hope in continuing. I know this isn't the case but I think I'm just in a funk. I used to be a D1 athlete and because I graduated, I am no longer spending summers in training. My food intake has always been problematic and I'm currently working on a paradigm shift in the way I think. Truthfully, its weird because I know a lot about nutrition but I'm not sure how to put it into practice. either that, or I straight up lack will power. How did you ladies start back up? Truthfully, I'm clueless. I feel depressed about the weight; however, I'd rather catch it now and reverse the trend then go back up to my start weight. This is clownshoes.
  • I gain about 8 lbs with TOM every month, and it doesn't generally start disappearing until day 5-6. I also learned recently that a minor injury, even sunburn can cause water retention (after I saw a significant gain after a sunburn, even though my calories had been quite low).

The weight is ALWAYS going to fluctuate, ups and downs. So the only failure is giving up.

I failed at weight loss for 35 years because I so often felt "Its really depressing. I just feel completely disgusting and just like there's no hope in continuing," and so I wouldn't. I'd give up and regain it all, then start again, feel hopeless again and start the same cycle over and over and over and over again.

For me, what really helped is realizing how few people succeed in the way I was expecting myself to succeed, and that just staying "in the game" was an accomplishment in itself.